Please consider registering
guest

sp_LogInOut Log In sp_Registration Register

Register | Lost password?
Advanced Search

— Forum Scope —




— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

sp_Feed Topic RSS WHFB
Rules question for 8th? YES 8th.....Concerns charge flee with incidental charge at different unit.
December 28, 2015
8:54 pm
Kevlar

Veteran
Full Users
Forum Posts: 133
Member Since:
March 6, 2013
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Trying to clarify this with mates outside of club who still play 8th:

Book quotes with page numbers would be much appreciated as we can not seem to find what is needed.

Unit X = hammer unit of Breton knights.   Unit A = High Elve Reavers situated in front of   Unit B = High Elve Spear infantry block.

SO: Unit X declares charge on unit A. Before dice rolls Unit A opts to flee hoping to lure X into friendly unit B.  Unit X wishes to pursue this initial charge.

Unit A escapes 'bouncing' through unit B  but Unit X pursuit roll is enough to carry it through into a charge of unit B (assuming they pass Ld Panic caused from fleeing Unit A).  However a charge was not declared on Unit B only Unit A.

1.  Is this still a charge and then ensuing combat between units X and B?  Or stop 1" away; as no combat over run happened, of failed charge just move highest dice roll forward....

2. What if A did not roll high enough and unit X catches unit A (removing the Unit A) and the same charge dice roll still connects them with unit B? Stop 1" away? or combat between X and B? Or again failed charge?

ALSO: Lets say Unit X wants charge Unit A. Unit A flees as before BUT Unit X passes LD test to re-direct into Unit B to avoid a counter charge.  Unit B holds awaiting the charge but Unit A does not roll well. Unit A does not flee through Unit B as low dice roll.  Unit X rolled high and would have connected with Unit B but can not because Unit A is in the way.  Unit A would have been ran down/caught but the charge was re-directed into Unit B.  What now????

December 28, 2015
9:12 pm
Kevlar

Veteran
Full Users
Forum Posts: 133
Member Since:
March 6, 2013
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Is answer this:

1. Declare charge by Unit X  at Unit A
2. Unit A declares reaction - flee

3. Unit A resolves reaction - rolls flee dice and immediately moves

Now if the unit A is still in front of the second unit B, then roll chargers unit X move and, if successful, move them into base contact with unit A and then remove unit A.

If unit A fled through the second unit B the charger unit X cannot catch them, regardless of the roll, so would need to redirect to hit the second unit B (assuming the unit passes it's panic test for being fled through).

 

This would mean that the scenario of confusion we played out would not exist in the first place?

December 31, 2015
10:37 pm
Avatar
juck101

Brother Sergeant
Full Users
Forum Posts: 277
Member Since:
March 22, 2013
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Declare charge is the first step.

Pretty sure the first charge has no target and can redirect (but only once). Attacker can redirect into second target but as you declare that, they also get to react -flee or fight. THEN roll distance. If you can catch the second target and they have no fled then it's a fight. If you don't have enough Movements it's a failed charge. 

Forum Timezone: Europe/London

Most Users Ever Online: 86

Currently Online:
7 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)

Top Posters:

Brown: 1220

Zak: 714

Tony: 710

Foleysrose: 580

cmc2011: 541

Huang da wei: 501

Czechfan: 429

JohnLawley: 396

leighdaclown: 350

Gorbad: 336

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 0

Members: 1821

Moderators: 0

Admins: 3

Forum Stats:

Groups: 4

Forums: 27

Topics: 2214

Posts: 13697

Newest Members:

VovaMok, ivavd16, elsapz18, timjm4, chelseaay16, RuslanWax, leanneou18, Dantewhala, AbnerhaLycle, tuzersmalan

Administrators: Admin: 16, FCWookiee: 1278, Ben Calvert-Lee: 1954